Steve Elcock


String trio, op.8a & 8b

(op.8a for 2 violins and viola;

op.8b for violin, viola and cello)

playing time : 10'

This one movement work confronts two extremely different worlds: a violent, rhythmic motive first spat out by the violin, and a broken, almost useless fragment of chorale. To this unpromising material is added more flowing music which acts as a kind of mediator at two points in the piece. But there is to be no reconciliation: the violent music becomes ever more aggressive, turning into a drunken dance at one point, while the chorale fragment seems as if paralysed by fear, frozen almost to nothingness, then knocked out by the cruel ending.




World premiere. St. Margaret Pattens Church in London on 1 March 2017. The performance is by the Veles Ensemble: Hartmut Richter, violin; Ralitsa Naydenova, viola; Evva Mizerska, cello.

© Copyright Steve Elcock 2018